Description

Located in the south-western part of the Bukit Peninsula in the south of Bali Island Balangan is a great place for surfing and popular for its high waves. Besides that it is a region with one of the most picturesque coasts of the island and recently it was quite wild and cut off from the rest of the world until this white sand beach was discovered by some Australian surfers. A small resort including only one small beach is successfully located in a bay surrounded by rocky cliffs where there is always a pleasant breeze for surfing and catching the most gorgeous sunsets in Bali.

For whom

Picturesque private villas with infinity pools and magnificent terraces with ocean views have turned this unique resort into a place of attraction. The natural beauty of the coastline is popular among tourists from all around the world who appreciate a quiet and relaxed atmosphere and privacy but at the same time, it's a perfect spot to catch waves. If you choose this area for living with a family and children it is better to go to the nearest Jimbaran beach for swimming where the waves are smaller and the coastline is wider. It would be an ideal place for families who appreciate playing on the beach building sandcastles with children.

balangan-i-love-villa-5.jpg

Beaches

There is not a large number of sunbeds and umbrellas along the Balangan coast. There are several beach bars, a toilet and a shower at the foot of the limestone cliffs which seem to “hug” the beach from two sides. The length of the sandy shore is small just a little more than half a kilometer of sand perhaps that's why this particular small beach attracts tourists who are not looking for bohemian chic.

balangan-i-love-villa-2.jpg

Getting down the single stone stairs from the cliffs you can come to the water to escape from the hustle and bustle to spend a pleasant time alone with yourself or enjoy surfing. Due to the unusual topography rocky bottom with sharp corals and the reddish color of volcanic rocks that are visible at low tide this beach is sometimes called "Martian". At high tide when the water rises high enough and the wave height sometimes can exceed two meters the beach is completely flooded and becomes unsuitable for swimming. Definitely Balangan Beach is a wonderful spot for surfers and photographers who look for new locations. There are not many people here perhaps even for a moment you will feel like at home.


What to do in Balangan

Being in the tropical rainforests have long walks along village roads and turn your walk into a meditative practice. Look for Pura Balangan temple near the beach and the tiny Pura Celangi altar which is located on a cliff next to the observation deck to touch the local shrines or admire the beautiful views from here.

When to go

You may come on vacation or stay here for a long time at any time of the year the average temperature is usually approximately 29 — 31 degrees Celsius and the water is warm 26 - 28 degrees Celsius.

Entertainment & leisure

Excellent gentle waves from April to August invite you to enjoy surfing. A wonderful bonus to the beautiful beach is one of the most popular surf spots of the island. If you are a beginner and still feel insecure on a surfboard it's better to use the help of an instructor and choose the tide when the beach waves are smaller.

balangan-i-love-villa-3.jpg

The Balangan Wave Surf School and Dawn Patrol surfing schools have a good reputation. Usually, they provide all the necessary equipment, sun cream, and cold water and some of them even offer a free shuttle service if you stay nearby. If yoga by the ocean is on your top list of activities on the island then it is worth trying classes and practicing asanas right on Balangan Beach. Lessons are held three times a day - in the morning from 7:30, 8:30 and in the evening before sunset at 17:00.

Where to eat

Many beach clubs such as Lucky Wins Beach Lounge suggest shorts, a T-shirt and flip flops as the basis of their dress code giving tourists the opportunity to relax and feel like at home for a short time. A visit here can be a good alternative to sunbeds on the beach as you may not only have lunch but also spend time by the pool with a stunning panoramic view of the ocean. The democratic atmosphere in local restaurants by the beach like in Froggy's Warung invites to enjoy local food, relax from the glamour and focus on watching the surfers. Mexican cuisine at Cafe La Pasion received a specific commendation for its big plates with tasty food they provide. The restaurant has its own special atmosphere and boasts a number of unique advantages like stylish interior and live music with DJ sets.

Balangan gallery

Описание

Находится в юго-западной части полуострова Букит на юге острова Бали. Баланган — прекрасное место для серфинга, благодаря высоким волнам. Кроме того, это район с одним из самых живописных побережий острова, которое совсем недавно было совсем диким и отрезанным от остального мира, пока белоснежный пляж не заметили австралийские серферы. Маленький курорт, включающий всего один небольшой пляж, удачно расположился на скалах и холмах — здесь всегда дует приятный бриз и случаются необыкновенные закаты.

Для кого

Живописные уединенные виллы с необъятными бассейнами и роскошными террасами с видом на океан превратили этот уникальный курорт в место притяжения. Этот район выбирают те, кто ценит тихую и расслабленную обстановку и уединение, но при этом любит ловить волну и без ума от серфинга. Если выбрать этот район для проживания с семьей и детьми, то для плавания лучше ездить на пляж Jimbaran (Джимбаран), где и волны меньше, и береговая линия шире, что оценят мамы малышей, которые любят вместе с детьми играть в песке и строить замки.

balangan-i-love-villa-5.jpg

Пляжи

На побережье Балангана нет большого количества лежаков и зонтиков. У самого подножия известняковых скал, которые словно «обнимают» пляж с двух сторон, есть несколько пляжных кафе, туалет и душ. Длина песчаного берега небольшая, всего чуть больше полкилометра песка, возможно, именно этот небольшой пляж и привлекает туристов, которые не ищут богемный шик. Спустившись вниз со скал по единственной каменной лестнице, можно пройти к воде, где отвлечься от суеты и провести время наедине с собой или заняться серфингом. Благодаря необычному рельефу, каменистому дну с острыми кораллами и красноватому цвету вулканических пород, которые видны во время отлива, пляж иногда называют «марсианским». 

balangan-i-love-villa-2.jpg

В прилив, когда вода поднимается достаточно высоко, а порой высота волны может превышать два метра, пляж оказывается полностью затоплен и становится непригодным для купания. Однозначно, пляж Баланган — прекрасная находка для серферов и фотографов, которые без устали ищут новые локации для своих фотосессий. Здесь немного народу, возможно, даже на мгновение у вас появится ощущение, что здесь "все свои". 

Что стоит сделать

Оказаться посреди тропической зелени и много гулять по проселочным дорогам, превратив прогулку в медитативную практику. Разыскать храм Pura Balangan неподалеку от пляжа и крошечный алтарь Pura Celangi, который находится на скале рядом со смотровой площадкой, чтобы прикоснуться к местным святыням или полюбоваться красивыми видами, которые открываются с этих мест.

Когда ехать

Приезжать в отпуск или оставаться в этом районе на длительный срок можно в любое время года, средняя температура воздуха здесь около 29 - 31 градус, а вода теплая - 26 - 28 градусов.

Развлечения и досуг

Отличные пологие волны с апреля по август располагают к серфингу. Прекрасным бонусом к красивому пляжу станет один из самых популярных серф-спотов острова. Если вы новичок и еще неуверенно чувствуете себя на доске, то обязательно воспользуйтесь помощью инструктора и выбирайте время прилива, когда волны на пляже небольшие. Школы серфинга Balangan Wave Surf School и Dawn Patrol, которые находятся в этом районе, имеют хорошую репутацию. Обычно они предоставляют все необходимое снаряжение, крем от палящего солнца и холодную воду, а некоторые даже предлагают бесплатный трансфер, если вы остановились недалеко.

balangan-i-love-villa-3.jpg

Если йога у океана есть в вашем списке обязательных дел на острове, то стоит посетить занятия и попрактиковать асаны прямо на пляже Баланган. Уроки здесь проходят три раза в день — утром с 7:30, 8:30 и вечером перед закатом в 17:00.

Где поесть

Многие пляжные клубы типа Lucky Wins Beach Lounge предполагают шорты, майку и вьетнамки как основу своего дресс-кода, давая возможность туристам полностью расслабиться и ненадолго почувствовать себя как дома. Визит сюда может стать хорошей альтернативой лежакам на пляже, так как здесь можно не только пообедать, но и провести время у бассейна с потрясающим панорамным видом на океан. Демократичная обстановка в местных ресторанах как Froggy's Warung привлекают тех, кому важно отдохнуть от гламура, сосредоточиться на недорогой местной еде и получать удовольствие от наблюдения за серферами, ведь заведение расположилось рядом с пляжем. Мексиканская кухня в Cafe La Pasion заслуживает отдельных похвал, тут очень вкусно, порции большие, а стильный интерьер и живая музыка с диджейскими сэтами создают особенную атмосферу.

Фото района Баланган на Бали