Description

The most mysterious and alluring region is located in the south-western part of the Bukit Peninsula. This area took its name from the temple of Pura Luhur Uluwatu which name can be translated as “Ulu” - a top, and “Vatu” - a stone or rock. This is easily explained: the temple complex is situated right on the edge of a picturesque cliff extending into the raging ocean. Incredible sunsets and excellent surfing facilities are the main reasons for the popularity of this region. It is spread out on high hills covered with palm trees, ferns and banana trees.

For whom

Vacations are the best time for surfing and no doubt the Uluwatu region is the best place for this. People come to go surfing to Uluwatu from all around the world. And it's not random at all! There is a large number of spots for experienced surfers along the coast as well as several surf camps and surf hotels which were specially built paying attention to the preferences of sportsmen. Today it is a fashionable modern space for like-minded people whose life is impossible without a surfboard and waves.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-33.jpg

Uluwatu region will be appreciated by those who come to Bali not only for surfing but also who like to spend a lot of time on wild beaches looking at the bright sun through sunglasses and watching water riders. It is exactly here where the sun does not leave the sky all day, it is here where there is a lot of water it is here where the winds blow all around. This place would be nice for people who want to become a part of the wilderness enjoying their getaway in tropical forests with gorgeous views of the Indian Ocean because the nearest “civilization” can only be reached by car or bike. Photographers admire this area for great opportunities for photo shooting too. Great aesthetic pleasure is guaranteed! It can be strange enough but this place is loved by tourists with completely different tastes and interests as Uluwatu is considered as a cultural, natural and party region at the same time.

Where to stay


Beaches

Uluwatu beaches are mostly wild, but very clean and beautiful. To get to the shore you sometimes have to go down the steep stairs or make your way under the rock arches. During high tides, the water rises so high that it can flood the beaches and getting close to them would be quite difficult. You will have a feeling of peace and serenity when we are at low tide near the water. You can rent a sunbed on some beaches but we recommend to take a large beach towel for sunbathing.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-35.jpg

The most famous beach in Uluwatu is Padang Padang Beach. It has become so popular after filming the movie “Eat, Pray, Love,” with Julia Roberts, that local people decided to take the entrance fee from the tourists. And even a way to the beach through steep stone stairs between rocks and monkey families does not scare tourists, everyone wants to see this place and feel like a movie actor in the famous film.

If you want to sunbathe it is better to pay attention to one of the beach clubs like Blue Heaven located on a cliff with beautiful ocean views and a large open pool with beautiful music, sun loungers, towels and lunch or dinner that could be a great bonus to your rest. You can use all the services that they provide by ordering a set lunch or dinner for 190,000 IDR.

What to do

If your plan to get acquainted with the religion of Indonesia then it is worth visiting a temple complex Pura Luhur Uluwatu and watching Balinese ceremonies to get to know not only customs of local people, feeling a special spirit of this holy place but also enjoy a beautiful panorama of the ocean and the whole island. Wedding ceremonies are held on the territory of the temple, there is a specially equipped chapel. You can take all wedding formalities on locals to make a ceremony of your dream with a classic ceremony or a ceremony with special religious traditions.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-31.jpg

When to go

Uluwatu is recommended for visiting all year round as the air temperature is always about 29 - 31 degrees and the water is warm 26 - 28 degrees. You can stay in this area for the whole vacation or you can especially come in the evening to watch the sunset in Uluwatu Temple and enjoy the national Kecak dance or dine on the restaurant terrace with the most beautiful ocean views.

Entertainment & leisure

Located on the edge of a huge cliff at an altitude of 90 meters above sea Pura Luhur Uluwatu Temple is one of the six most important temples of the island. Local residents come here to pay tribute to two goddesses: Rudra, a patroness of hunting, wind, and storm, and Devi Laut, a goddess of the sea who protects Balinese people from evil and sea demons. The temple complex is visited by fishermen to pray for a successful catch and a calm sea. To enter the territory of the temple you have to put on a sarong which can be rented at the entrance buying tickets. During the day you can watch the games of the monkeys and in the evening enjoy the traditional Balinese dance called Kecak. To get to the evening show you will have to take an additional ticket. High stairs lead to the temple surrounded by a grove in which there are many monkeys. Be careful because it is believed that monkeys protect the temple from evil spirits so some of them can be aggressive. There is a panoramic path over the cliff next to the temple buildings. It is a pleasure to take pictures here and watch the sun going down into the ocean.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-34.jpg

Uluwatu has a considerable number of surfing schools, specialized shops and offices for renting surf equipment, which give this region special dynamics. You can study in a group or take individual lessons with a certified instructor, as well as learn the skill of riding a board with local people for much less money.

The surf bar Single Fin has been the pride of music lovers where you can enjoy the most beautiful music on the island. A special sound palette, which is accompanied by admiring the sunset and surfing of the coolest surfers creates a certain positive mood. The non-standard architectural design of the club which looks like a “layer cake” with a large number of terraces, wooden furniture, delicious coffee, and food, forms the unique atmosphere - a refined chill with notes of the avant-garde. On Wednesday and Sunday, the club operates until late at night attracting visitors with sets from world DJs and live music. Exactly these days young people from all over the island come here to dance. This place is a must-visit!

Balinese religious traditions covered with the secrets of the traditional Kecak dance at the light of the passing day, the aroma of banana trees, monkey games, warm ocean waves with a huge number of surfers, it is the best collection to keep memories about vacations in different colors.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-36.jpg

Where to eat

What could be better than an ocean view dinner? Of course, it is a dinner with the sunset. All the restaurants located on the cliffs and famous for their panoramas present a wonderful menu that makes dinner even more memorable. Typically, such eateries belong to foreigners who know a lot about quality food and good service. So, recently opened after renovation, the El Kabron Bali restaurant invites you to enjoy wonderful moments of the most cheerful Spanish cuisine and watch the ocean with a glass of wine. Nachos with tuna, crab salad, the most delicious grilled octopus that can be the best dishes for a romantic dinner and the sunset are offered to guests in Mana Uluwatu. In Uluwatu, it is easy to find simpler restaurants with both local Balinese and European cuisine. If you want a delicious breakfast, then feel free to go to the Jiwa Juice Bar where ciabatta sandwiches with tuna and the most delicious freshly squeezed juices are served.

El Merkat, a restaurant with an Italian touch, is loved for an incredible avocado toast, delicious aromatic coffee, and pasta. Nau Tapioca House surprises with healthy Brazilian cuisine and unusual ingredients such as Brazilian tapioca that is especially good here, as well as a gluten-free menu, which will be appreciated by healthy lifestyle followers.

Uluwatu Gallery

Описание

Самый загадочный и манящий своей красотой район расположен в юго-западной точке полуострова Букит. Своему названию этот район обязан храму Пура Лухур Улувату (Pura Luhur Uluwatu), чье имя переводится как: «Улу» — вершина, и «Вату» — камень или скала. Это легко объяснимо: храмовый комплекс стоит прямо на краю живописной скалы, уходящей в бушующий океан. Невероятной красоты закаты и и прекрасные условия для серфинга — главные причины популярности этого района. Он раскинулся на высоких, поросшими пальмами, папоротниками и банановыми деревьями холмах.

Для кого

Отпуск — лучшее время для серфинга, а район Улувату — несомненно, лучшее для этого место. Чтобы покататься на доске люди съезжаются в Улувату со всего мира. И не случайно. Вдоль побережья, на расстоянии нескольких километров расположено большое количество спотов для продвинутого уровня катания, а также немалое количество серф лагерей и серф отелей, которые специально были построены с учетом предпочтений спортсменов. Сегодня это модные современные пространства для единомышленников, чья жизнь немыслима без доски и волн.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-33.jpg

Район Улувату понравится тем, кто приехал на Бали не только ради серфинга, но и кто любит проводить много времени на диких пляжах, вглядываясь в яркое солнце сквозь черные очки и наблюдая за водными катаниями на досках. Здесь солнце не уходит с небосвода целый день, здесь много воды, здесь гуляют ветра. Это место придется по нраву людям, которые хотят слиться с природой, насладиться тишиной и уединением в тропическом лесу с шикарными видами на Индийский океан, ведь до ближайшей «цивилизации» можно добраться только на машине или байке. Фотографы тоже облюбовали этот район. Концентрированное эстетическое удовольствие здесь им бесспорно обеспечено! Как ни странно, но это место любят туристы с абсолютно разными вкусами и интересами, так как Улувату является культурным, природным и тусовочным районом одновременно.

Где остановиться


Пляжи в Улувату

Пляжи в районе Улувату в основном дикие, но очень чистые и красивые. Чтобы попасть к берегу, порой нужно спуститься по крутым ступенькам вниз или пробраться под арками скал. Во время приливов вода поднимается так высоко, что может затопить пляжи, и к ним подойти близко будет достаточно сложно. Ощущение покоя и безмятежности всегда возникает, когда мы находимся у воды в отлив. На некоторых пляжах можно снять шезлонг, однако советуем запастись большим пляжным полотенцем или прихватить соломенную подстилку для принятия солнечных ванн.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-35.jpg

Самый знаменитый пляж в районе Улувату — Padang Padang Beach ( Пляж Паданг-Паданг ). Он стал настолько популярен после съемок фильма с Джулией Робертс «Ешь, молись, люби», что вход сюда решили сделать платным. И даже крутая каменная лесенка через ущелье между двумя скалами, на пути которой встречаются семьи обезьян, не пугает туристов, все хотят побывать здесь и почувствовать себя героиней известной киноленты.

Если вы не особо любите соленую воду, но любите загорать, то стоит обратить свое внимание на один из пляжных клубов типа Blue Heaven, который расположен на обрыве с прекрасным видом на океан, а большой бассейн под открытым небом с красивой музыкой, шезлонги, полотенца и обед или ужин на ваше усмотрение станут прекрасным дополнением к отдыху. Пользоваться услугами клуба можно, заказав комплексный обед или ужин за 190,000 IDR ( 900 рублей).

Что стоит сделать

Если в ваших планах есть место знакомству с религией Индонезии, то стоит посетить храмовый комплекс Pura Luhur Uluwatu ( Пура Лухур Улувату), стать свидетелем балийских церемоний и познакомиться не только с обычаями местных жителей, почувствовать особый дух этого святого места, но и увидеть красивую панораму океана и целого острова. На территории храма проводят свадебные церемонии, здесь есть специально оборудованная часовня. Местные жители могут взять абсолютно все хлопоты по организации свадьбы вашей мечты — от классической до церемонии с соблюдением особых религиозных обрядов.

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-31.jpg

Когда ехать

Район Улувату рекомендуется к посещению круглый год, так как температура воздуха здесь всегда около 29 - 31 градуса, а вода теплая — 26 - 28 градусов. Можно уединиться в этом районе на время всего отпуска, а можно специально приехать в вечернее время, чтобы встретить закат в храме Улувату и насладиться национальным танцем кечак или поужинать на террасе ресторана с самым красивым видом на океан.

Развлечения и досуг

Храм Pura Luhur Uluwatu ( Пура Лухур Улувату), расположенный на краю огромного утеса на высоте 90 метров над уровнем моря, входит в шестерку важнейших храмов острова. Сюда приходят местные жители, чтобы отдать дань и поклониться двум богиням: Рудре – покровительнице охоты, ветра и бури, и богине моря – Деви Лаут, которые защищают балийцев от злых морских демонов. Храмовый комплекс посещают рыбаки помолиться об удачном улове и спокойном море. Чтобы попасть на территорию храма, необходимо облачиться в саронг, который можно взять в аренду вместе с входными билетами. Днем здесь можно понаблюдать за играми обезьян, а вечером посмотреть традиционный балийский танец Кечак. 

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-34.jpg

Чтобы попасть на вечернее шоу придется приобрести дополнительный билет. К храму ведет высокая лестница, окруженная рощей, в которой водится множество обезьян. Будьте осторожны, ведь считается, что обезьяны охраняют храм от злых духов, поэтому некоторые из них могут быть агрессивно настроены. Над обрывом рядом с храмовыми строениями комплекса проложена обзорная тропа, которая всегда заполнена туристами. Одно удовольствие здесь фотографироваться и наблюдать, как на закате солнце садится в океан.

В Улувату находится немалое количество школ по обучению серфингу, специализированные магазины, офисы по аренде серф оборудования, которые придают району особой динамики. Можно обучаться в группе или взять индивидуальные уроки как с сертифицированным инструктором, так и обучиться мастерству катания на доске у местного жителя за гораздо меньшие деньги.

Серф-бар Single Fin ( Сингл Фин) уже давно стал предметом гордости меломанов, где звучит, пожалуй, самая красивая музыка на острове. Особая звуковая палитра, которая сопровождается любованием закатом и катаниями самых крутых серферов, создает определенный позитивный настрой. Нестандартное архитектурное решение клуба, который выглядит как «слоеный пирог» с большим количеством террас, деревянная мебель, вкусный кофе и еда формируют уникальный характер заведения — утонченный чил с нотами авангарда. В среду и воскресенье клуб работает до самой поздней ночи, привлекая посетителей программой с сетами от мировых диджеев и живой музыкой. Именно в эти дни молодежь со всего острова приезжает сюда, чтобы потанцевать. Это место обязательно к посещению!

uluwatu-Bali-I-Love-Villa-36.jpg

Балийские религиозные традиции, окутанные секретами традиционного танца кечак под свет уходящего дня, аромат банановых деревьев, игры стай обезьян, неспешность теплых океанских волн с огромным количеством серферов — в этом районе собрано лучшее для того, чтобы оставить воспоминания об отпуске со всем буйством красок.

Где поесть в Улувату

Что может быть лучше ужина с видом на океан? Конечно же, ужин с видом на закат. Все рестораны, которые расположены на скалах и славящийся своими панорамами, представляют прекрасное меню, которое делает ужин еще более запоминающимся. Обычно такие заведения принадлежат иностранцам, которые знают толк в качественной еде и обслуживании. Так, недавно открывшись после реновации, ресторан El Kabron Bali ( Эль Каброн Бали) предлагает насладиться прекрасными моментами самой жизнерадостной испанской кухни с видом на океан вместе с бокалом вина. Начос с тунцом, салат с крабом, самый вкусный осьминог на гриле, которые предлагают гостям Mana Uluwatu, (Мана Улувату) могут стать лучшими блюдами для романтического ужина и встречи заката.

В районе Улувату несложно найти и более простые ресторанчики как с местной балийской, так и европейской кухней. Если хочется вкусно позавтракать, то смело отправляйтесь в Jiwa Juice Bar, где можно «проглотить язык» от сэндвичей на чиабатте с тунцом и самыми вкусными свежевыжатыми соками. El Merkat - заведение с итальянской ноткой — любят за вкуснейшие тосты с авокадо, вкусный ароматный кофе и пасту. Nau Tapioca House удивляет полезной бразильской кухней и необычными ингредиентами блюд типа бразильской тапиоки, здесь она особенно хороша, как и безглютеновое меню, которое оценят адепты здорового образа жизни.

Улувату на карте


Фото района Улувату на Бали