The five flavors of Thailand

Thanks to Indian settlers, wars with neighbors and centuries of trade with China, Thai people have absorbed, retained and continue to transform the regional cuisine. Thais adopted many foreign recipes often replacing their ingredients, for instance, replacing ghee with coconut milk. Today, the harmonious combination of the five flavors - sweet, sour, salty, bitter and spicy - is the basis of Thai cuisine.

If you have been to a Thai restaurant once or twice, it does not give you a reason to believe that you are familiar with the local cuisine. In fact, cuisines of different regions of the country vary significantly.

For example, in Northern Thailand, in Chiang Mai where Thai families get together and sit in a circle on the floor for a meal and socializing, there is an incredible variety of greens and vegetables on the "table", as well as their favorite dish - naem, that is a delicacy pork sausage, and most delicious khao soi, that is a soup with crisp Chinese egg noodles in which the role of broth is played by the northern curry soup with chicken.

In the north-east of Thailand people prefer spicy "explosive" salads, fried minced meat with chilly and glutinous (sticky) rice, not crumbly rice. And for a snack here they serve a variety of insects, flavored with salty sauce. North-east of Thailand is considered the "birthplace" of the famous Thai som tam - spicy green papaya salad which is now served in all regions, without exceptions, from sidewalk cafes to upscale restaurants.

Only in central Thailand where Bangkok, the multimillion capital of the Kingdom, is located and in the former capital of Siam - Ayutthaya savory food and sweet and sour sauces prevail. It is in the "capitals of Thailand" you can enjoy the exotic meal when noodle soup is being served from a sampan boat while you are on a canal tour. On the streets of these cities you can see Thai fried noodles being wrapped in a special kind of paper so you can enjoy this dish in your apartment. Having unfolded the packed dish in the kitchen and putting it on a plate, add the essential ingredients (also packed as a takeaway): lime juice, peanuts, sugar, chili, bean sprouts - and enjoy the taste of central Thailand on your balcony with the view of the river or skyscrapers of Bangkok.

The taste of the central plains of the Kingdom of Thailand is the art of mixology of Indian spices and Chinese way of cooking. Most of the dishes are very spicy due to the large quantity of spices, especially curry and pepper. Travelling around central Thailand (Sukhothai, Ayutthaya, Bangkok) feel the color and the harmony of spice combinations of Thai green curry served here with "wet" noodles or jasmine rice.

As a rule, routes of travelers in Thailand are always directed to the east coast and south of the country. Going to the east coast (Pattaya, Rayong, Koh Chang Archipelago), the epicenter of the production of fish sauce and fruit cultivation on an industrial scale, visit the orchards. Here all the year round you can try fresh fruit such as pineapple, papaya and banana. And during spring and summer months you can enjoy lots of mango varieties, its sweet variety is part of the most popular Thai dessert with sticky rice and coconut milk. Fruit flavor of the eastern coast of Thailand pleases with a variety of exotics ranging from the queen of fruit - mangosteen to the king of fruit - ambiguous to taste durian.

In the South (Phuket, Samui, Krabi) seafood is very popular, you can have lobsters, crabs, oysters, squid, fish and even such exotic delicacies like jellyfish salad. Due to the large number of mixed fish odor the region has its own special secret of cooking with Indian saffron or turmeric to control seafood odors. Therefore, for example, the taste of yellow curry with crab is the "hallmark" of Southern Thailand.

Feel the five amazing flavors of the northern, northeastern, central, eastern and southern regions of the Kingdom of Thailand while traveling around the country and choosing cafes and restaurants with dishes of regional cuisines.

ПЯТЬ ВКУСОВ ТАИЛАНДА

Благодаря индийским колонистам, войнам с соседями и многовековой торговле с Китаем, жители Таиланда впитали, сохранили и продолжают преобразовывать региональную кухню. Тайцы "сиамизировали" многие иностранные рецепты, часто заменяя в них ингредиенты, например топленое масло на кокосовое молоко. Сегодня, гармоничное сочетание пяти вкусов: сладкого, кислого, соленого, горького и острого - основа тайской кухни.

Если вы раз или два попали в тайский ресторан, это не дает вам основания полагать, что вы знакомы с местной кухней. В действительности кулинария разных регионов страны значительно отличается друг от друга.

Так, на севере Таиланда, в Чиангмае, где тайские семьи собираются вместе и садятся по кругу на пол для трапезы и общения, на "столе" появится невероятное разнообразие зелени и овощей, а также любимое блюдо - "нэм", деликатесная свиная колбаска и наивкуснейший "као сой" - суп с яичной китайской хрустящей лапшой, в котором роль бульона играет северный карри с курицей.

На северо-востоке Королевства Таиланд предпочитают острые "взрывные" салаты, жареный мясной фарш с чили и в отличие от рассыпчатого - клейкий рис. А на закуску, здесь подают разнообразных насекомых, приправленных солоноватым соусом. Именно северо-восток Таиланда считается "родиной" знаменитого тайского "сом тама" - острого салата из молодой папайи, который теперь подают во всех регионах без исключения от уличных кафе до фешенебельных ресторанов.

Только в центральном Таиланде, где раскинулась многомиллионная столица Королевства Бангкок и бывшей столице Сиама - Аюттайе, превалируют пикантность блюд и подача кисло-сладких соусов. Именно в "столицах Таиланда" можно насладиться экзотикой подачи супа-лапши, остановив лодочку (сампан) во время прогулки по каналам. На улицах этих городов увидеть как заворачивают тайскую жареную лапшу в пищевую бумагу для того чтобы вы насладились этим блюдом по возвращению в свои апартаменты. Развернув на кухне упакованное блюдо и переложив на тарелку, добавьте важные ингредиенты (также упакованные с собой): сок лайма, арахис, сахар, перец чили, ростки бобов - и наслаждайтесь вкусом центрального Таиланда на своем балконе с видом на реку или небоскребы Бангкока.

Вкус центральных равнин Королевства Таиланда - это искусство миксологии индийских специй и китайского способа приготовления блюд. Большинство блюд - очень острые благодаря большому количеству специй, в особенности карри и перца. Путешествуя по центральному Таиланду (Сукхотай, Аюттайя, Бангкок) прочувствуйте колорит и гармоничность сочетаний специй зеленого тайского карри, который подают здесь с "мокрой" лапшой или жасминовым рисом.

Как правило, дороги путешественников по Таиланду всегда направляются к восточному побережью и югу страны. Отправляясь на восточное побережье (Паттайя, Районг, Архипелаг островов Чанг), в эпицентр производства рыбного соуса и выращивания фруктов в промышленных масштабах, посетите фруктовые сады. Здесь круглый год можно пробовать свежие фрукты, такие как ананас, папайя, банан. А весенние и летние месяца порадуют разнообразием сортов манго, сладкий сорт которого употребляют в виде знаменитого тайского десерта с клейким рисом и кокосовым молочком. Фруктовый вкус восточного побережья Таиланда радует разнообразием экзотики от королевы фруктов - мангостина, до короля фруктов - неоднозначного по вкусу - дуриана.

На юге страны (Пхукет, Самуи, Краби) популярны дары моря: лобстеры, крабы, устрицы, кальмары, рыба и даже такой экзотический деликатес, как салат из медузы. Из-за огромного количества смешанных рыбных запахов в этом регионе имеется свой, особый секрет приготовления блюд с "индийским шафраном" или куркумой, чтобы контролировать запахи даров моря. Поэтому, например, вкус желтого карри с крабом является "визитной карточкой" юга Королевства Таиланд.

Почувствуйте пять потрясающих вкусов северного, северо-восточного, центрального, восточного и южного регионов Королевства Таиланд, путешествуя по стране или выбирая кафе и рестораны с блюдами региональных кухонь.