Italy is a holiday in itself. It is the country of festivals, carnivals, street fairs and celebrations. No wonder that event tourism is so developed in Italy: the Carnival in Venice alone annually attracts more than half a million guests from different countries. During the carnival it is more difficult to rent a place to stay due to the large influx of travelers, so we advise you to choose an apartment or a villa in Italy in advance.

Some Italian holidays coincide with the dates of common for the Western world holidays. They are Christmas and New Year. Others have been borrowed from other countries: for instance, Halloween that is celebrated in many countries of the world following the USA tradition. Still others are truly Italian, with a local sense and local flair. For example, the national holiday of Epiphany.

Epiphany is celebrated on January 6 and symbolizes the birth of Jesus. Despite the fact that along with the rest of Europe the Italians celebrate Christmas on December 25, Epiphany is one of the most significant holidays in the country.

On January 6 Italian children wake up to find gifts from the main character of the holiday – Befana who is the prototype of Santa Claus and is usually portrayed as an old woman flying on a broomstick. On this day all the members of an Italian family will certainly take part in the large colorful street fairs and performances. And guests of the country would not mind to have fun, to buy traditional food and souvenirs. So, the Piazza Navona in Rome hosts a very popular street market on the day of Epiphany – the place is equally favored by both the Italians and tourists for holiday shopping.

The national holidays include Liberation day (April 25) – a memorial day which marks the liberation of Italy by Allied forces during World War II.

May Day (May 1) – in Italy it is not only Labor Day but also the day when different political parties can express their protest on the streets. The atmosphere at this is most friendly, it is more like a festive fair than a political rally. The culmination of the May Day in Italy is a traditional festive concert at the San Giovanni area in Rome where local and visiting stars perform.

On August 15 Ferragosto is celebrated in Italy. This is one of the most favorite holidays, along with New Year, Christmas and Easter. On this day of Assumption (Ascension) of the Virgin Mary celebrations are held across the country. And in popular resort areas festive parties are arranged.

An Italian carnival is very colorful and attractive for visitors of the country. Of course, this is the Carnival of Venice with its beautiful, astounding, exquisite masks that scatter around the world as souvenirs and vivid reminders of Italy. But carnivals in Ivrea, Viareggio, Fano, Putignano, Acireale and Rome are good reasons to book apartments in Italy for the time of these truly spectacular festivals.

Италия – само олицетворение праздника. Страна фестивалей, карнавалов, уличных ярмарок и гуляний. Недаром в Италии так развит событийный туризм: один только карнавал в Венеции ежегодно собирает более полумиллиона гостей из разных стран. Во время карнавалов снять жилье бывает сложнее из-за большого наплыва путешественников, поэтому мы рекомендуем заранее выбрать апартаменты или виллу в Италии.

Некоторые итальянские праздники совпадают с общими для западного мира праздничными датами. Это Рождество, Новый год. Другие были заимствованы: скажем, Хеллоуин, который вслед за США сегодня отмечают во многих странах мира. Третьи же являются истинно итальянскими: с местным смыслом и колоритом. Например, национальный праздник Епифания.

Епифания празднуется 6 января и символизирует рождение Иисуса. Несмотря на то, что вместе со всей Европой итальянцы отмечают Рождество 25 декабря, Епифания - один из самых значимых праздничных дней в стране.

6 января итальянские дети просыпаются, чтобы отыскать подарки от главного героя праздника - Бефаны: прототипа Санта-Клауса в образе старой дамы, летающей на метле. В этот день все члены итальянской семьи непременно принимают участие в больших красочных уличных ярмарках и представлениях. Да и гости страны не прочь повеселиться, купить традиционные угощения и сувениры. Так, на Пьяца Навона в Риме на Епифанию разбивается очень популярный уличный рынок - самое любимое итальянцами и приезжими место для праздничных покупок.

К национальным праздникам относятся День освобождения (25 апреля) - день памяти, знаменующий освобождение Италии союзными войсками во время Второй мировой войны. 

Майский день (1 мая) - в Италии это не только день солидарности трудящихся, но и день, когда различные политические партии могут выразить свой протест на улицах городов. Атмосфера при этом самая дружелюбная, напоминает скорее праздничную ярмарку, нежели политический пикет. Кульминацией Первомая в Италии служит традиционный праздничный концерт на площади Сан Джованни в Риме, на котором выступают местные и приезжие звезды. 

15 августа Италия празднует Феррагосто. Это один из самых любимых праздников, наряду с Новым годом, Рождеством и Пасхой. В этот день Успения (Вознесения) Девы Марии по всей стране проводятся праздничные мероприятия. А в популярных курортных местах устраиваются вечеринки по поводу праздничного дня.

Итальянские карнавалы – отдельная, красочная и привлекательная для гостей страны история. Это, конечно, в первую очередь, Венецианский карнавал, с его прекрасными, поражающими воображение, изысканными масками, разлетающимися по всему миру в качестве сувениров и напоминания о яркой Италии. Но и карнавалы в Иврее, Виареджо, Фано, Путиньяно, Ачиреале, Риме – прекрасный повод забронировать апартаменты в Италии на время проведения этих поистине зрелищных празднеств.